Jazz
Jazz
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Jazz
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Jazz

Jazz

Regular price
$12.99
Sale price
$12.99
Regular price
$15.95
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Author: Toni Morrison

Color: Purple

Edition: Reprint

Features:

  • Vintage

Number Of Pages: 256

Details: Product Description In the winter of 1926, when everybody everywhere sees nothing but good things ahead, Joe Trace, middle-aged door-to-door salesman of Cleopatra beauty products, shoots his teenage lover to death. At the funeral, Joe’s wife, Violet, attacks the girl’s corpse. This passionate, profound story of love and obsession brings us back and forth in time, as a narrative is assembled from the emotions, hopes, fears, and deep realities of black urban life. "The author conjures up worlds with complete authority and makes no secret of her angst at the injustices dealt to black women.” —The New York Times Book Review“Transforms a familiar refrain of jilted love into a bold, sustaining time of self-knowledge and discovery. Its rhythms are infectious.” — People Review “Wonderful. . . . A brilliant, daring novel. . . . Every voice amazes.” — Chicago Tribune“She may be the last classic American writer, squarely in the tradition of Poe, Melville, Twain and Faulkner.” — Newsweek “[A] masterpiece. . . . She has moved from strength to strength until she has reached the distinction of being beyond comparison.” — Entertainment Weekly“Thrillingly written . . . seductive. . . . Some of the finest lyric passages ever written in a modern novel.” — Chicago Sun-Times“A compelling blend of heart and language. . . . Resounds with passion.” — The Boston Globe“Marvelous. . . . Morrison is perhaps the finest novelist of our time.” — Vogue“The author conjures up worlds with complete authority and makes no secret of her angst at the injustices dealt to black women.” —Edna O’Brien, The New York Times Book Review“She captures that almost indistinguishable mixture of the anxiety and rapture of expectation—that state of desire where sin is just another word for appetite.” — San Francisco Chronicle“As rich in themes and poetic images as her Pulitzer Prize–winning Beloved. . . . Morrison conjures up the hand of slavery on Harlem’s jazz generation. The more you listen, the more you crave to hear.” — Glamour“She is the best writer in America. Jazz, for sure; but also Mozart.” —John Leonard, National Public Radio “A masterpiece. . . . A sensuous, haunting story of various kinds of passion. . . . Mesmerizing.” — Cosmopolitan“Lyrically brooding. . . . One accepts the characters of Jazz as generalized figures moving rhythmically in the narrator’s mind.” — The New York Times“Transforms a familiar refrain of jilted love into a bold, sustaining time of self-knowledge and discovery. Its rhythms are infectious.” — People From the Inside Flap In the afterglow of a clean triumph--her widely celebrated, Pulitzer Prize-winning best-seller, Beloved--Toni Morrison moves to even higher ground. This, her eagerly awaited new novel, Jazz, is spellbinding for the haunting passion of its profound love story, and for the bittersweet lyricism and refined sensuality of its powerful and elegant style. It is winter, barely three days into 1926, seven years after Armistice; we are in the scintillating City, around Lenox Avenue, "when all the wars are over and there will never be another one...At last, at last, everything's ahead...Here comes the new. Look out. There goes the sad stuff. The bad stuff. The things-nobody-could-help stuff." But amid the euphoric decisiveness, a tragedy ensues among people who had train-danced into the City, from points south and west, in search of promise. Joe Trace--in his fifties, door-to-door salesman of Cleopatra beauty products, erstwhile devoted husband--shoots to death his lover of three months, impetuous, eighteen-year-old Dorcas ("Everything was like a picture show to her"). At the funeral, his determined, hard-working wife, Violet, herself a hairdresser--who is given to stumbling into dark mental cracks, and who talks mostly to birds--tries with a knife to disfigure the corpse. In a dazzling act of jazz-like improvisation, moving seamlessly in and out of past, present, and future, a mysterious voice--whose identity is a matter

Release Date: 08-06-2004

Package Dimensions: 7.9 x 5.1 x 0.8 inches

Languages: English

Binding: Paperback

Liquid error: Could not find asset snippets/addthis.liquid